Breakfast for Dinner…Always a good idea!

6 03 2011

Breakfast is definitely my favorite meal, and I love that you can have it any time!!  When Gus and I were first dating, I would make a big fancy breakfast at least once a week, or we would go out for a nice breakfast.  Omelets, pancakes, waffles, scrambles…you name it, I love it!  I love going out, but making it at home is just as easy as ordering it, and it doesn’t take a lot to spruce up a tasty meal.

I think the reason it’s so well loved is because it’s so frakin’ easy to make.  I used an “easy” waffle recipe from my handy dandy Better Homes cookbook, and modified it a bit.

Oh so easy!

Here are the ingredients I used:

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup milled flax seed
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon turbinado sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 cup olive oil

To kick this up a notch (ha!), I sauteed a diced apple in a tablespoon of butter, 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon and a sprinkling of turbinado sugar.  This can be left out, but it totally is worth the extra 5 minutes this takes.

Let the apples cool off before you mix it into the batter.  The raw egg in the batter will scramble if you throw this in hot.  I just threw this in freezer while I started the batter.  It was chilled enough by the time I was done!

It is super important when making pancakes, waffles or almost any baked good that you prepare your dry and wet ingredients separately.  This allows for optimal mixing with minimal effort!  I started by whisking the 2 eggs in a small bowl until slightly frothy.  Since there are no whipped egg whites with this method, you’ll want your eggs to be frothy to add volume to the batter.  Ultimately this makes for a fluffy waffle!  Then I added the milk and oil to the eggs and whisked those together until blended.

Now that the wet stuff is mixed, time to move onto the dry!  I added the flour, milled flax seed, baking soda, salt and sugar to a large bowl.

Mix the dry ingredients thoroughly, then add the wet all at once and mix until just blended.  Don’t over mix or your waffles will be chewy (yuck!).  Add the apple mixture to the batter and stir into the batter.  I used my trusty Belgian waffle maker purchased over 8 years ago from Amazon for like $30!  Best buy ever!  Each waffle maker is different, I love mine because there are no heat controls, just on and off.  That’s all you need, no fancy schmancy multi-heat level needed for awesome waffles.  I melted a little butter and put some in the hot iron and added about a 1/2 to 3/4 cup of batter and closed the lid.  Whatever you do, DO NOT TAKE A PEEK!  My waffle iron’s light turns off when it thinks it’s done, but I like mine crispier.  I usually let it go 1 to 2 minutes longer, or until the steam has almost stopped coming out of the iron.  The first waffle is always what I call the “tester”.  It’s like the first pancake; you have to let the pan adjust to having batter in it.  Plus it’s a nice little snack while you’re waiting for the other waffles to finish!

 

Mmmm, pre-dinner snack

Check out this fluffy waffle!

I forgot to add cinnamon to the batter at first, so I threw it in for the last few waffles.  Top this with whatever you like on your waffles.  I just used light butter Aunt Jemima syrup we have in the house with a little light margarine spread.  This would be great with a caramel syrup, or fresh brown sugar syrup, Gus tried honey.  Whatever floats your boat!

Attack!

It can be changed up with different fruit, too.  I was going to do sliced bananas, or frozen blueberries (fresh even!), strawberries, raspberries, mango, you get the idea.  If you want a meatier option for breakfast, try throwing a slice of cooked bacon (pork, turkey or vegetarian) onto the waffle iron, then the batter and cook.  It’s a savory/sweet meal you’ll go back to time and time again!

Price-wise, this is a really cheap meal.  I just used what I had on hand in my pantry, and the apple was like 50 cents.

I hope you enjoy Breakfast for Dinner as much as I do.  What are some of your recipes?

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 03 2011
Loopdilou

Favorite breakfast for dinner? Dutch babies! I believe they are called Dutch Pancakes in the Joy of Cooking and they’re DIVINE! Smothered in fresh fruit and powdered sugar… *drool*

Granted, they also have an entire stick of butter in them.. but sometimes you need to splurge a little! 😉

6 03 2011
Jenny P.

Those waffles look great! My favorite homemade breakfast are crepes with strawberries. I usually fold together a mixture of cream cheese, sour cream, and brown sugar and spread that inside the crepe before rolling it up and topping with sliced strawberries. Equally delish with banana slices.

Leave a Reply

